Get Real

Fitness is not a New Year’s resolution.

How many years have we “resolved” to lose weight, only to gain it all back a few months later? How much money have we wasted on those gym memberships that are never used? It’s time to begin our commitment to life-long fitness. More than just losing a few pounds or fitting into a summer swimsuit, it’s time to focus on long-term goals that will keep us healthy and happy for years to come.

Of course, the “magic formula” is still diet and exercise. We need to eat fewer calories than we are able to expend, and make a conscious effort to get in at least some exercise each day. It’s also a good idea to keep a food journal.

I certainly don’t have all the answers, and I’m not even trying to pretend I’m perfect. I still love a good “cheat meal.” Through the years I’ve lost (and gained back!) my fair share of the pounds. But when I let myself get 85 pounds overweight, I knew it was time to act. So, along with healthy eating and regular exercise, I started to log a food journal.

A month into my journal, I had to face a harsh truth. I had been “rewarding” myself with pizza, BBQ ribs, Chinese food, and candy every other night. But because it wasn’t every night, I didn’t even realize it! Time goes by fast, and it’s easy to fool ourselves into thinking we’re just having a “little treat.” But those treats can quickly add up!

I don’t like to preach, so I’ll bring this entry to a close. My only hope is that come July, we’re all still “chugging along,” losing weight and feeling great, and not full of regret at our good intentions from six months earlier.

Get Up. Get Moving. Get Fit!

by Raul Lisneski | Health & Fitness Editor | Residential Life Magazine

2 thoughts on “Get Real

  1. Could plan a healthy menu each week, choose healthy foods at the grocery store, compare nutrition labels to determine the healthiest choice, and use healthy cooking techniques to prepare meals.

Leave a Reply

