Lust @ First Sight

I’m concerned at the phrase “love at first sight” for a few reasons. I have been told this lie in the past and I see right through it every time. You don’t know a thing about me and you’re sitting here telling me that you love me, that you believe in ‘love at first sight?’ What a weirdo!

I wouldn’t even mind so much if they were just up front and honest right off the bat and said they saw me from across the bar or room and thought I was hot or whatever and decided to come and talk with me. I’m not saying this would work, but at least we wouldn’t have to go through this whole song and dance.

At best, it’s lust at first sight, okay? Even if we’ve been talking for a while, you still can’t use this lame pickup line. Even if we’ve been dating for months I wouldn’t accept it! It just doesn’t make any sense.

‘Love at first sight’ is like saying you knew you were going to enjoy the movie before you even heard about it, or you knew you were going to have a great meal when you had only seen the restaurant’s sign on the way home from work.

I want to accept this line, mostly ‘cause it sounds so romantic and the idea of ‘love at first sight’ is a pleasing one, but I keep coming back to the notion that it’s all a trumped up way to get into (or stay in) a girl’s pants in the first place.

If you use this line on me, I’ll thank you for the great laugh, but you can keep your free drink!

by Angelina Estevante | Residential Life Magazine 

One thought on “Lust @ First Sight

  1. Pingback: Let it All Hang Out « Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

