On the Chopping Block

Dear Suri, Most everyone at my workplace has their own office, but no one usually closes the door. When that happens, conversations echo through the hallway, and can be clearly heard from every office.

I bring this up, because the other day I heard my boss talking on the phone with a partner from another location. It sounded like they were talking about a possible downsizing. I know this is happening across the country, but I didn’t think it would happen here!

Now I don’t know what to do. The call was around lunchtime, so I’m not sure who else was in their office to overhear it like I did. I don’t want to bring something up if they didn’t hear it!

Still, I can’t get it out of my head. It’s killing me! I don’t know how much longer I’m going to be here, and I just wish someone would give me some answers already. — Nervous in Nashville
_______________________________________________________

Dear Nervous, You are likely projecting to others your fear of facing a layoff. This can result in a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Few people enjoy change, and I’ve yet to meet someone who wouldn’t blink at the possibility of losing their job. However, you must do your best to put at the back of your mind the conversation you overheard.

It is very possible that the concerns you’ve expressed do not reflect the reality of the situation. Until you discover otherwise, why put yourself through (possibly undue) stress? Simply do the very best job you can, but also keep abreast of other opportunities in your field.

You cannot change whatever the outcome of that call may be, but you can change how you react to the news, once it is finally made known to you, and you can certainly control how you choose to conduct yourself in the meantime. Chin up! ~ Suri __________________________________________________________

Suri Says™

by Suri Syrtauwnya | Advice | Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

