Tall Tales

I think the phrase “to be honest with you” should be outlawed. It makes no sense, and serves no purpose.

Today someone was talking to me about what they did on their vacation, and they said “To be honest with you, it was really fun.” They could have left that first part out and it wouldn’t have changed things one bit!

Plus, saying that suggests that they were thinking about lying to me at first, but then decided to change their minds. How rude.

Actually, in this case, I wouldn’t have cared much even if they did lie to me about it. If they said they had a crappy vacation, I wouldn’t be happy about it, but it wouldn’t change my situation at all!

It’s the same with “I’m not going to lie to you.” Yeah, thanks for saying that up front. Now I am going to think that everything you tell me without that preface is just a fib! People say the silliest things.

I just wish folks could get to the point without putting in these useless phrases. To be honest, it’s just plain tiring.

by Tommy R. Panagopolis | Residential Life Magazine

One thought on “Tall Tales

Leave a Reply

