The Other Three Rs

The other day my neighbor told me he ‘saves’ pistachio shells. I had never even thought of that! He uses them in his backyard fire pit, which is where he cooks most of his meals (he doesn’t use a stove or microwave). He says the shells “burn well,” and are much better for the environment. It was very interesting to learn this fact.

It got to me thinking about the whole ‘reduce-reuse-recycle’ thing, and how no one seems to care about it anymore. It was all the rage back in the 90s, but now I guess no one has time for it, or they just don’t feel like it.

Just do it.
Just do it.

I can’t tell you how many plastic bottles, tin cans and sometimes even glass jars I see in the trash every day! Every morning at work, the trash cans are filled to the brim with reusable materials, even though there is a recycling bin not one foot away! Overlooking the bin is more than just being lazy, it’s being vindictive. These people are out to destroy everything that’s good in this world.

But it’s always been more about just recycling on its own. Hardly anyone even thinks about ‘reduce’ or ‘reuse’ anymore. I reuse whatever I can, from shoeboxes to scrap paper and everything in between. I am not a ‘hoarder,’ but I’m also not going to willingly trash the planet just to save a few minutes.

I don’t know, maybe I’m wrong in this. I surely can’t be the only one recycling. I just don’t see a lot of other people doing it. In fact, I see most people totally disregarding the entire concept and it makes me swell with emotion. I get angry, fearful for the future, but mostly just sad. It is a sad state of affairs we have come to.

by Isis Yaestorlia | Environment Editor | Residential Life Magazine 

Leave a Reply

