Give Me a…

Cheerleading is not a sport. I say this as a cheerleader. It’s not.

Sure, cheering is athletic and def. makes you work up a sweat, but it’s different. I mean, the practices are about the only time when we are actually working hard enough, I think, for it to actually be called a ‘sport.’ At the games, we mostly just sit around until someone scores or does something halfway exciting, then we hit a couple splits, maybe a quick cheer, and that’s about it. Pretty boring. I hate the games. In my opinion, they are the worst part of cheering. But that’s just me.

So I actually broke out the ol’ dictionary for this one 🙂 (actually, Dictionary.com) just to make sure I was on the right track and could make a valid argument and all that. So here it is:

_____________________________________________________________

This is not a sport. No, no it's not.
This is not a sport. No, no it’s not.

sport [spawrt, spohrt]

noun

1. an athletic activity requiring skill or physical prowess and often of a competitive nature, as racing, baseball, tennis, golf, bowling, wrestling, boxing, hunting, fishing, etc.

2. a particular form of this, especially in the out of doors.

3. diversion; recreation; pleasant pastime.

4. jest; fun; mirth; pleasantry: What he said in sport was taken seriously.

5. mockery; ridicule; derision: They made sport of him.

 _____________________________________________________________

Okay, so I guess it could be a called a sport in a very “official” sense. I still don’t think, so, though.

Listen, cheerleading requires strength, flexibility, and sometimes we do get hurt. I admit all that. But so does pro-wrestling, and I wouldn’t call that a sport. Weight-training isn’t even a sport. It’s an element of one, but I don’t even want to get into all that right now.

I mean, you have to be focused for other things, too, like NASCAR, but that’s def. not a sport! No way! You are just sitting there the whole time! I’ll bet these drivers don’t even break a sweat!

The thing is, if we keep saying everything is a sport, pretty soon watching TV will qualify as exercise. So will just standing there, staring at the sky, or whatever.

I just think we need to be careful about labeling, because after a while the words don’t mean anything anymore. They are just words that we all use incorrectly. And what is the point of that?!

by Amber O’Neal | Gaseoustania Tonight Staff Writer | for Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

