Give It a Rest, Lady!

There’s one lady at work who is just like Prince’s mom in “When Doves Cry.” She’s never satisfied.

No matter what project anyone presents, no matter what idea we come up with, she always has to pick it apart.

We’re talking about more than ‘constructive criticism’ here. She seems to almost take pleasure in bringing up these petty, nit-picky comments and ‘observations’ that are always laced with a tinge of anger and disrespect. My wife says she needs to H.A.L.T. (hungry, angry, lonely, tired). I think this woman is just mean.

Don't be a busy body.
Don’t be a busy body.

She calls herself a ‘perfectionist,’ and blames her personality on being an only child. The trouble is, not all only children have personality issues, and even the most obsessive perfectionist eventually reaches an agreeable conclusion.

Now, her BS attitude is starting to affect my workflow, and that’s where I’m going to have to draw the line.

Her little digs and remarks are making more work for everyone and pushing back deadlines, but what does she care? It’s not her name on the project! When the customer doesn’t get what was promised and starts to get ticked off, it’s not her they’ll be calling!

Look, even Michelangelo — by then almost completely blind — worked hard to complete the Sistine Chapel, because he had a finished product to deliver, and people who were expecting results. This lady acts like every little thing is a Sistine Chapel! I’m tired of it!!

I know I’m not going to change her, and I’m not about to let her get me so frustrated that I quit (she’d love that), or otherwise jeopardize my job. So for the past few weeks I’ve just been ignoring her.

She’s not my boss, and until my boss says something needs to be updated or changed, this lady can lump it… and like it!

by D. Hennig | Residential Life Magazine 

Leave a Reply

