If I Was in Charge, Things Would be Different

Everybody thinks things would be so much better if they were in charge. It’s so funny!

It’s like the other day, this kid didn’t like how long he had to wait in the lunch line, ‘cause he only wanted a cookie, or whatever, and he goes off on this whole thing about how there should be two lines: one for people who want a full lunch and another one for people who only want little stuff. It all comes from the same line!

No one cares.
No one cares.

Eventually, he started swearing and just took off. He was so mad! Kind of weird for a guy who wanted a cookie… 😮

Anyways, it got me to thinking about how people don’t really like to work together, even if they say they do. It’s like last month, when I was on this group science project. Everybody did their own work by themselves, and then we tried to put it all together, but it didn’t work out in the end. We got a B on it, which I guess is okay, but maybe if we had just been able to do our own assignments, we could have each done better.

But even the President doesn’t like to work with other people! I’m not huge into politics, but sometimes I get forced to watch “important stuff” like the State of the Union, or whatever. That’s what happened a few months ago when my parents said I had to watch it. I also had a report on it that week, but that’s not the point…

So, yeah, it’s like the President has all these ideas n’ stuff, but he can’t do them all, ‘cause there is always someone there to say “I think that’s stupid” or something, and then he has to come up with a new plan. I’ll bet he’d like it if he could just come up with stuff and make it happen.

My dad keeps talking about teamwork and how important it is. I mean, I get it! The cheer squad has to work together “as one unit” as the coach says, but it doesn’t mean we have to give up our own individuality.

Then my dad starts on this whole “That’s how it works in the real world” thing, talking about business and office politics and anything else. I usually just zone out at that point. 😉

But anyways, I get the whole ‘team’ thing, but I think sometimes it’s good to also just do stuff on your own. I mean completely on your own. Group activity should be reserved for social stuff, not actual work.

Then you don’t have to worry about someone not liking your idea, or whatever, and the whole project takes sooo much longer than it needs to! I’m just thinking about efficiency here! 🙂

xoxo,
chelz

by Chelsea Abrahams | Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

