Happiness Then

Basset hound eyes dripping sincerity
The soft brown pools fill to overflowing
As quivering lips send her sadness crashing to the floor

A gentle embrace quickly retracted –
The customs of this place will not permit it to linger –
I am forced to face the pain of my new role as helpless witness to her distress

Her sobbing makes it hard to breathe
As mascara dyes her perfect features a melancholy black
And she’s never been so beautiful in all her life

I watch her tears
And the familiar salty taste comes again upon my own lips
Our hearts connected, but still so far apart

I reach out to touch her warm face
Too late for that closeness now
But that’s all I want: to be near her

by .gas. Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

