1980-Something

Gas station receipt with total of $19.82
Art imitates life

I looked at the gas receipt and noticed the total was $19.82. That’s when I saw this cute girl at the next pump – standing outside the passenger door. “I think I’m in love!”

They say “don’t talk to strangers,” but I knew I had to get to know her better, even though she’s probably “somebody’s baby.”

So I walked up, said “Here I am,” and she laughed. Good sign. But I didn’t try to get “physical” right off. Instead, I kept the “eye of the tiger” and welcomed with “open arms” the opportunity to strike up a conversation.

She said she was “waiting on a friend,” and then asked, “Do you believe in love?” Just coming off a bad break up, I told her to “take it easy on me,” ’cause “love’s been a little hard on me” lately.

Tainted Love

She said her name was “Rosanna,” and gave me her number (“867-5309”), but when I dialed, it said the number wasn’t in service. Frustrated, “I ran” away. She was all, “Don’t you want me?!” I said she gave me a bogus number, and “I can’t go for that.” She was so mad! She kept yelling, “You could have been with me!” I told her “it’s gonna take a miracle” to ever trust her again.

Don’t Stop Believin’

Jumping into my car, I peeled out of the lot so fast! I was “hot in the city,” let me tell you! Then I remembered I was supposed to meet “Jack and Diane” for lunch. On the way, I flipped on the radio – something I never do. “I keep forgetting” how much “I love rock n’ roll.”

But even though “it’s hard for me to say I’m sorry,” I tried her number again later, and this time she picked up. She explained that she was “working for the weekend” and didn’t have time to pay her phone bill.

I’m so glad I didn’t let the “heat of the moment” “harden my heart.” Her best friend, “Gloria” said, “You should hear how she talks about you.” I laughed, but she said, “No, really, she’s so ‘caught up in you.'”

The Sweetest Thing

The feeling is definitely mutual. These days, she really is “always on my mind.” To me, “every little thing she does is magic;” “even the nights are better” by “that girl’s” side.

Just the other day, she said she can’t wait to go “through the years” together. I told her I’ll always be “the man on your mind.” “Any day now” I’m going to ask her to marry me. I want to “keep the fire burnin'” forever.

Leave a Reply

