A Little Nice Goes a Long Way

My birthday is next month and I’ve been ‘invited’ to attend the monthly “birthday bash” at my work, even though I previously told the organizer I’m not interested.

I said I’m just very busy, and since the events are held first thing in the morning, it makes it difficult for me to get back into the swing of things for the rest of the day. Lame excuses, I know, made even more lame by the fact that they’re not entirely true.

Bend the Rules

Like a lot of people, I do follow a routine in the morning and can get side-tracked if I get distracted for too long. But these little get-togethers are only about half an hour long, and I don’t know anyone who is so rigid that they can’t take a break every once in a while. Even the President has to ‘roll with the punches’ of schedule changes. And everyone is busy. Everyone. So that excuse should be put on the shelf.

Missed Manners

The main reason I don’t attend is because people are mean. I know someone is going to say “Well, you aren’t very nice to them, either,” and you would be wrong. I’m not trying to cop an attitude here, but it’s true.

angry coworkers scolding fellow employee
Don’t be a douche

Whenever I see someone in the hall or around the building, I always say “Hello.” I only get a return greeting about 50% of the time. That’s not an exaggeration. In fact, some people won’t say anything at all! I used to get peeved about this, but after chatting with a friend, I decided to try out a little experiment and just continue with my greetings, even if they weren’t returned.

In the end, most of the people who were initially ‘shy’ (or what have you) began to respond after a few weeks when we had ‘gotten to know each other.’ I still think this warming up process is for the birds. We’re not in kindergarten anymore, and it’s not like I’m a stranger on the street. But I’m willing to let that go if it means (eventually) they decide to act like a sane human being and actually say ‘hello’ (or at least acknowledge the goddam greeting!) when someone makes an effort.

Get a Life

I’m not sure why the other half of my co-workers still decide to be so anti-social. So, until people can actually show some respect, I’m not going to pretend everything is okay and go to these stupid parties every month.

You can say that makes me a ‘negative Nelly,’ or a downer, or anything else. I really don’t care. I’m not going to put on some show for these people who can barely function in society.

by Mr. Grunbau
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

