Two by Four

A friend I’ve known since grade school is an aspiring actress. She was an “extra” as early as age 16, and has had bit parts in a few TV shows, and a movie she says is set to come out this year.

She recently moved to Los Angeles to pursue her dream of a career in acting, and I know she’s going to make it. She came home for Christmas break, and we got to talking about the sacrifices that are sometimes necessary to get good roles. She’s facing one of those decisions right now.

One for the Team

fat woman considering whether she should overeat or exercise
Think it over

The studio wants her to gain 30 pounds. Now, this girl has been fit for as long as I can remember. She was a cheerleader in high school, and taught aerobics part-time once she turned 18. She always eats right and pays attention to her figure. Don’t get me wrong. She’s not a huge dieter, and she’s not vain. She just likes to keep fit and healthy. So I was floored when she said she’s probably going to gain the weight!

She brought up an interesting point, though, by saying that people gain and lose weight every year and don’t even think about it. She says she would be ‘smart’ about the weight gain, and not pig out on junk food to get there. Then, after the film is over, she plans to get right back down to where she is now. She said it’s a good role and she needs to make a name for herself, so has decided getting fat is worth it in this case.

For Love of the Job

I just think it’s interesting. I mean, I tend to put on at least 15 pounds in the winter (during what I call the “fat/sweater months”), and I don’t get anything out of it but a sour mood and bad attitude. At least she’s going to get paid, and hopefully this will open the door for something else.

I know her, and I know she’ll get the weight off, too. She does what she says she will. I just think it’s a different way to look at things. Kind of a reverse New Year’s resolution, I guess, but sometimes you have to do what you have to do.

by Samaris Nuñez

One thought on “Two by Four

  1. Jury duty is for dumb-asses. I’m not trying to be rude, but you should have found a way to get out of it. You’re right that the judge doesn’t care what jurors say, and no one else does, either. That’s why you should never server for jury duty. Ever. Let them take their disrespect someplace else!

Leave a Reply

