Say Again?

Expressions are funny. Sometimes they are local or regional, so other people may not be ‘hip’ to their actual meaning.

Like the other day. I was chatting with this cute guy, but I really had to go to the bathroom. Of course I wasn’t going to just blurt that out, so I said I needed to “wash my hands.”

Always a Lady

women's room sign
Gotta go right now

My brother used to live in Southern Ohio, and I guess a lot of people there say that, when really they need to pee. I guess this woman out there told him that the women especially use the phrase, because no one ‘powders their nose’ anymore.

Well, I liked the way it sounded, so I made the mistake of trying it here, and that’s where all the confusion started!

The guy first told me I could just use the kitchen sink, to which I turned beet red. I think he noticed, too, ‘cause then he said he actually thought he had a hand-wipe packet in his pocket! That wasn’t going to help me at all!

Take a Hint

So then I made matters worse by telling him “thank you, but I really needed to wash my hands someplace else.” I guess my subtle hint wasn’t too subtle, ‘cause he just couldn’t get it! He kept talking about hand sanitizer and how there’s a bar of soap right in the kitchen!

Not knowing what else to do, I finally had to just break down and tell him that I had to use the restroom (I actually said ‘restroom’ instead of ‘pee’ this time), and then he turned beet red, and that’s when I took off and headed down the hall!

It got me thinking about other expressions people use that other people get totally confused about. I can’t think of any right at the moment, but if you know any other funny ones, let me know!

by Amber O’Neal
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

