Suri Says: Life Stages

Dear Suri, I don’t have a lot of money lying around, but when my bro from, like, the first grade was getting married last year, I knew I had to get a gift. I mean, I wanted to get a gift. This was gonna be a huge day for him, and I definitely wanted to be there to give him my full support, and also help them out getting a life started, or whatever. We’ve been through some times together, and I wasn’t going to miss this noise!

bride and groom holding a sign that reads 'thank you'
Just say it

I didn’t buy anything special; just picked something on the gift registry and went from there. That’s not even the point, though. It’s been almost four months and I haven’t heard a word from him! No ‘thank you,’ no ‘It was great to see you, man,’ not even a ‘Go to hell,’ which would have been a lot better than them just ignoring me.

It’s been long enough that they’ve already taken their honeymoon and are back home now, so don’t even try to defend them on that one! I think they’re just cheap bastards and they don’t know how even basic courtesy. I know I’m cussing here, and it’s ‘cause I’m getting pissed.

I won’t ever go to any wedding again. And if these guys have a kid, or whatever, I don’t even care. I’ll ignore them like they ignored me. I haven’t talked to this guy in months. Who cares if we ever talk again. You get what you give, and that’s just the way it is. — Suck it
______________________________________________

Dear “Suck it,” Words often mask emotions. Your note begins with a nostalgic glimpse into what I’m sure has been an exceptional bond of friendship, but soon gives way to colorful sentiments I’m not entirely convinced you fully believe.

Now is the time to break the silence that has been created, to reach out to your friend and explain the reasons behind your reaction. Far from confrontational, this interaction should be a two-way discussion, focusing on your changing relationship, and how your camaraderie can continue to build moving forward. Good luck to you! ~Suri
______________________________________________

Suri Says™
by Suri Syrtauwnya | Advice | Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

