A Parade to End All

There’s no easy way to write this, so I’m just gonna write it. I’m sick and tired of Gay Pride parades.

Look, I’m no homophobe, and I’m damn sure not some kind of racist, sexist, whack-job who would ever raise a hand to anyone, or suggest harm on any person or animal. But what I don’t get is… what’s the point? I mean, there has never been a ‘Straight Pride’ parade. Not once. I know some guys from back in the college days who tried to put one on, just for fun, and they were called every name in the book. I think they might have even got in trouble with the school for the gag.

Shoot Straight with Me

gay-pride-parade
Quit the bullshit

This isn’t about how I feel about gays, so don’t even try to make me out to be a bad guy here. I think homosexuals should have every right as any ‘straight’ person. Not only does it not make any difference what goes on behind closed doors, but the gays I know are honest, hard-working folks who deserve to be married, get the insurance they need to protect their families, and be respected as the great people they are.

I just don’t get the parades thing. If gays want to be ‘treated like everyone else,’ they need to ditch this in-your-face way of doing things. It only puts a bigger division between gays and non-gays. Everyone needs to just be respectful and to learn how to get along with each other without all the petty, got-dang arguments already. That’s what needs to be done more now than ever.

You know I’m right. You can call me whatever you want, but you know I’m right.

Rants n’ Raves with Jon Novin
Opinion Editor
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

