Don’t Dumb It Down

My friend likes this guy, but she acts so stupid around him! I don’t even know why. It’s like, every time he’s around, she acts like she doesn’t know anything! She is super smart, too. I would even say ‘brilliant.’ I don’t use that word lightly. 🙂 She actually skipped a grade, is always on the Honor Roll, and has all these after-school activities, like Math League and all that.

nerd-girl
Don’t try to fight it

I don’t mean she’s a nerd, which there is really nothing wrong with, but that’s not her. She’s actually pretty popular, and also really nice, so everyone knows and likes her. That’s what I mean: with all this going for her, why does she feel like she has to be dumb around this guy? He’s nice and all, but he’s not, like, the hottest guy on the planet or anything.

And he’s not a genius, but he’s also smart, and knows a lot about history and other stuff. So she can’t even say that she’s trying not to hurt his feelings or something, because he’s probably wondering why she’s acting weird, too!

So Be You

idk, I just think if you like someone, you should be you, and not try to put on some show or act like something you’re not. ‘Cause then, if it works out, you either have to keep up with the game, or start acting like you really are, and then the person you like might either not be into that, or not like that you were acting this whole time.

Believe me, this happened to me not too long ago. I was all about this one guy, and so I listened to my friend (same friend, actually!) lol 🙂 and acted like I didn’t know anything, and I guess it actually worked, ‘cause he was into me for a while, but then when I finally got sick of playing dumb and let him know that I actually know a thing or two (hee hee) about various stuff, he acted all shocked, and made this huge scene about how I was being “deceitful,” or whatever, and how he couldn’t trust me anymore.

Old Habits

Two days later I see him at the bakery with this really stupid girl. I know that’s not nice to say, but I think she really might be kind of vacant, ‘cause she never lets up the act. Unless she just does that at school and is really some biochemist or something! I don’t know what goes on behind closed doors! lol 🙂

And maybe he never actually wanted to hang out with me in the first place, but the whole point of this is that I wasn’t going to play dumb anymore, and I don’t even care if he’s out with this other girl. Good for both of them, I say.

I hope my friend will come around and realize that no guy is worth pretending for. ‘Cause then you are going to be pretending forever. And that’s a long, long time.

xoxo,
♥chelz♥

by Chelsea Abrahams
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

