Get to the Point

To avoid an unpleasantly ironic situation, allow me to “cut to the chase,” as the kids say: When trying to make a point, make it and move on.

I don’t suggest that you become curt, rude or abrasive with anyone. There’s simply no room for that. Instead, you may wish to consider pre-planning your thoughts before you present them, which will save time all around — for you and your listeners alike.

Make It Snappy

large-book
Cut to the chase

To demonstrate, consider this recent interaction:

A fellow barged into my office (uninvited) at 8:10 a.m., and began a lengthy tirade I had neither time for, nor interest in. The end of his nearly 15-minute soliloquy revealed his predicament: he had arrived to a meeting without a writing utensil. I offered my pencil (which he, by the by, never returned!) and we parted ways.

Setting aside the fact that I have met and lunched with this man no less than three times (enough, one would think, for him to remember having made my acquaintance), this entire ordeal could have been played out in less than a minute, like so:

“Greetings. I have a meeting here today, but have forgotten my pen. Could I borrow yours?”

It could have been as simple as that. Or, as the kids also like to say: “Done and done.”

As I’m nearing the previously-mentioned irony, I will promptly close this essay. In the end, I believe I have sufficiently made my point.

by Liu Q.L.
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

