Life and Death

Taste It

I’ve always been a bit of a loner. I’m not a “hater” or anti-social. I just know myself and appreciate quiet, quality time with my own thoughts. That said, I also recognize the importance of getting involved. I am certainly not alone in this.

Be a Joiner

group-gathering
Good times, GOOD TIMES!

Most group participation has some underlying ulterior motive. I’m not talking about sinister intentions here. People join groups and clubs for several different reasons. Some of them might even be self-serving… and that’s not a bad thing!

For instance, folks might join a networking group to expand their professional contact list and hopefully get help if they lose a job. They’ll join churches for faith, sure, but also to make new friends and gain a sort of acceptance and belonging. Gyms are a place for more than just physical fitness. Even your job does more for you than just provide a means by which to pay bills, even if you don’t know or want to accept the fact.

Hidden Benefits

The point is, you can accomplish the goals from all of these activities on your own, but there are definite reasons for joining in. Sometimes these reasons are specific to each person.

Even loners like myself benefit from group participation. It doesn’t have to be for hours on end, and you can still get and enjoy your “me” time, but not joining in at all is not only no fun, but can also be detrimental to your health, wealth, and happiness.

by Liu Q.L.
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.