The Seaweed is Always Greener

Every so often, like many folks, I start to look back on the past few years, and sometimes feel bad about my current lot in life. I try not to analyze things too much or live in the past, but sometimes it’s just tough not to realize what you don’t have. But a recent dinner with an old friend changed my perspective.

We were good buddies in elementary and high school, and then college and the “real world” sort of sent us in different directions. I moved around the country, chasing a career dream. He settled in our hometown, got married, had three kids, and now has a great job with the state government, great house, really happy life. And I’m thrilled for him. Always have been.

But you can see why sometimes I used to do a little comparison and figure that I had wasted a lot of time and now had nothing to show for it.

Everything’s Going to Be Alright

Near the end of our dinner, I casually (not whining) mentioned to my buddy that I’d love to have even half of what he has. And that’s when he slapped me clear across the face with some “tough love.”

sebastian-crab
Don’ worry ’bout a ‘ting, mon!

Buddy: What are you doing after this?

Me: I don’t know. Just going home.

Buddy: But what exactly?

Me: Probably get some ‘za, watch some TV in my boxers. Hit the sack about 2:00 a.m. Not like I have to get up early.

Buddy: I haven’t been able to do that in years. I would love to do that.

I don’t think he’s at all unhappy with what’s he’s got. He was teaching me that the “grass is always greener,” and that I should be happy with what I’ve got. I accepted the life lesson, and I’m glad for it. I have a great deal to be happy about, and plenty of time to fill in the gaps for the rest of it. I’m no longer ashamed. I’m ready to get started.

by Gordon T. Elliott
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

