Posers

This has been said before, but it’s worth repeating. That TV show Alaskan Bush People is about as ‘bush’ as camping with a tricked-out RV trailer is “roughing it.” I said that!

The thing is, I actually don’t mind the show. I’m just tired of the splitting hairs, and them boasting about living “off the grid,” when they really don’t. To me, it seems like every couple weeks, they just fly a bunch of Hollywood actors to Alaska to act “tough.” It’s smoke-screen entertainment, through and through. Nothing more.

Behind the Curtain

alaskan-bush-people
Not even close to real

I remember similar refrains from when I lived in Ohio, and I’d see the Amish people (who supposedly don’t use technology) take taxis to Walmart to buy all sorts of plastic things, shipped from China. I’ll bet they went back to their mansions, too, and watched Alaskan Bush People on their big-screen HDTVs, while soaking in the hot tub, checking Facebook on their smartphones, and eating microwaved pizza rolls! Hypocrites!

Best Actor/Actress Award

I’m just tired of the game. Don’t act like you’re all high and mighty, or holier than thou. Don’t get on your high horse, or any other cliché, when you’re really just a poser. Or as my son used to say:

“You think you’re all that and a bag of chips, when you’re not even the bag of chips.”

by Willa Shaykhs
Residential Life Magazine

One thought on “Posers

Leave a Reply

