Respect Yourself

In response to a recent article about personal safety, I’m afraid I have to flat out disagree with Able Abe’s stance. Here’s the thing. Heroes die, cowards live. I know that’s harsh, but it’s true.

I don’t mean any disrespect to police officers, firefighters, lifeguards, and the like, or even the “average” people who do amazing things and risk their lives to save others. They’re completely valiant people, and I commend them. But that’s just not me.

I wouldn’t say I’m a coward, per say, but I know that I’ll always look out for myself and my family, and then other people, and only then when it’s not going to put me or my family in harm’s way. Does that make me a bad person? Maybe. But it also makes me a person who’s going to live to see another day.

scaredy-cat

Priorities

I was at that same work safety session when they asked what we would do if someone came in and started to cause a scene. For me, at the first sign of trouble, I’m out the door. I’m sorry, I’m not sticking around to see how things escalate. Same thing if I’m in a restaurant or store and someone starts to freak out. Gone. People are so on edge these days, and you never know when someone’s going to pull out a gun and shoot up the place, or go around slashing people with a knife.

I don’t make any excuses for the way I am. I just value my own safety and security (and that of my family) well over the safety and security of anyone else. At least I’m being honest.

by D. Hennig
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

