Sawing Wood

I’m surprised at how many people I see sleeping in their cars these days! Let me explain:

I get an hour break for lunch. For years, I’ve been used to doing everything (wash hands, use restroom, eat) in just 30 minutes. So this is a nice change. But old habits die hard, and I always seem to be done eating in about 20 minutes. I’m not allowed to come in late or leave early. So I decided to start taking a little afternoon cat nap in my car at lunchtime.

Contagious Siesta

The breaks have done me a world of good. It’s a nice rest for my eyes and body (I push the seat way back and recline), and I return to work feeling totally refreshed and ready to take on the rest of the day. Lately, though, I’ve noticed so many other people doing the same thing! I know it might sound rude, but part of the reason why I loved doing this is because no one else was around!

Now, everyone and their mom is doing it! It’s like when other people finally discover your shortcut! Not a huge deal, but just makes a bit less special. Oh, well. There’s really nothing else to say about it. I just find it odd, is all.

by Danka Leebon
Residential Life Magazine

Leave a Reply

